RSS

Dated

14 Aug

Because I twisted my ankle playing basketball on Monday I’ve been going on long walks instead of runs.  Nothing like pumping that Daft Punk through the headphones at high volumes while waiting for cars to stop at the crosswalk.  It’s has been a little frustrating, given that I’d actually dropped below 200lbs. for the first time in awhile.  I learned this when I was in Brian’s bathroom one morning a coupla weeks ago.  I had taken a shower and hopped onto the scale–Brian then knocked on the door yelling that Paul was on the phone and I should shout my La Piñata order into the phone…I ordered pork enchiladas.  So, yeah, walking not running…and I seem to twist and turn my ankles every few months and it just sidelines me because my preferred forms of exercise are running, which involves running, and basketball, which involves stealing, shooting and running (which, according to Brian’s joke–and I couldn’t help but chuckle–is why Black people dominate the sport).  The minor injuries could be taken as a positive sign, though…couldn’t injure myself if I weren’t running around, right?  Tomorrow I’ll wrap it up tightly and give it a shot.  I’ve been missing my Ace of Base.

Several unassociated thoughts just came to mind.  There’s a chick in Happy Donut right now wearing a sequined beret.  During summer school one of my students actually inserted a paper clip into an electrical socket.  The swimming at the Olympics is getting really old.  I’m seeing Tropic Thunder tomorrow with Akilah, but I couldn’t help myself and I saw it tonight on my own.

I’m dated now for Korea.  I have until September 16 to get all of the intolerance out of my system so that I may embrace the culture of Changwon.  You know, so I’m not criticizing people in the Korean donut shop equivalent for their headwear.  I’ve found some valuable and entertaining accounts of a traveler/teacher at this site which my readers may find enjoyable.  And, otherwise…I’m ready to roll!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Dated

  1. francis2two

    August 15, 2008 at 5:05 am

    Yay! Wow, you’re really doing this. Sarah’s mom is Korean and makes some great food. What do people think of you going to Korea? Have you inspired anyone else to try to go?

     
  2. whatupthen

    August 15, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I’m glad you mentioned inspiring other people. I have to pass some information on to a particular person who might be interested.

     
  3. francis2two

    August 15, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    That’s what I’m here for. I’ll remind you about anything. I’m a mom after-all and get a lot of practice. However, we know that I recently hurt myself when trying to remind the morsel to brush her teeth, so maybe I should lay off?

     
  4. alicia

    August 19, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    you’re really going!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!
    wow.
    wow.
    and so soon!

    you’ve seen the sign and it’s opened up your mind.

     

Leave a comment