RSS

Assorted Crap

29 Aug

Is it time to write another blogger post??

Girl…you know it’s true.

No doubt, I ran hard this evening. Normally, during the flat sections after uphills, I’m forced to scale it back to regain my breath, but I powered through them today. It had to be one of my faster ones…I even had the energy to run home afterward instead of walking!

Maybe it’s because I had the pork enchiladas for lunch today…

First day of work and I’ve got to avoid the habit of paying $8 for lunch. That will destroy my wallet really quickly. Although that Grilled Salmon Salad yesterday was damned good. Fuck, between lunches and that $15 car wash I’ve just been giving my money away lately.

So…a ripe pineapple is mostly green! That’s why those yellow ones I’ve been buying lately have been all mushy inside.

Trying to find the fastest way to cover the 11-mile commute to Fremont. Today I took the street and was introduced to Mission Blvd – 7:30am style. I thought I drove fast…before this morning. The woman in the SUV behind me threw her hands up in disgust because my car and the car in the next lane created a 60mph wall on the street! I thought we were flying. The speed limit couldn’t have been more than 40. So, of course, I slowed down to spite her. I enjoy tormenting obnoxious drivers.

Someday I’m gonna get road-raged for that sort of thing.

We had a circuit speaker for my first day of work; preaching to us teachers about the importance of community and socialization of junior high students. He looked like a cross between Ned Flanders and J.K. Simmons who was in the Spider-Man movies and The Closer and The Cider House Rules and I absolutely did that without looking at IMDB holy shit I’m the king of Hollywood. He was telling us important things; how family support and peer and teacher relationships affect student success and how to demonstrate to kids positive behaviors. It was fantastic stuff, really. But…the dude was so full of shit. He had so many stories from all of these amazing people he’d supposedly met, you’d think they could make a movie out of him. He said he’d randomly gotten, not only the same flight but, the same seat as his brother on a cross-country flight that neither knew the other one was taking. He knew a milkman who littered so that kids could earn bottle money. His neighbor’s 12-year old built his computer setup…and became a departmental vice-president at Microsoft. His childhood friend was a bad influence…until he raised $500,000 for charity running an adult basketball tournament. He knew someone who was the perfect example for every single point he was making and after a while it just became too corny and too obvious. It reminded me of that book A Million Little Pieces that Oprah got embarrassed for promoting; everything was just too perfect. Maybe he didn’t expect for us to believe it all; perhaps we were supposed to realize they were made-up examples for the purpose of illumination, but I was rolling my eyes by the end when he described how his mother’s pulmonologist was a former high school student that the system had failed…until one brave teacher recognized his inner spirit and cultivated it for the world to see.

I love Safeway. From the apples to the yogurt to the mineral water. The flooring. The employees. Especially that one alarmingly cute, sparkly-eyed woman who wears a tie with her uniform. Ingredients for life, indeed.

People, don’t talk shit about the WNBA. The WNBA is fucking awesome. I was on the edge of my seat watching Game 3 of Detroit-New York. Kraayeveld has come a long way since a few years ago and McCarville didn’t play so hot but it’s clear how skilled she is. I can’t look at Cheryl Ford without seething about Karl Malone so no comment there. But the Shock — god, it’s upsetting when the favorites roll — they are damn resilient and damn tough and they’ve got straight veterans who just don’t quit. Deanna Nolan…what a jumpshot! Phoenix and Indiana (rooting for the Shock is like rooting for the goddamn Spurs) in the final so Nancy Lieberman can gush about Anna DeForge (no conflict-of-interest there!) and Taurasi can make SportsCenter provide the highlights ignorant people say don’t exist in women’s basketball.

Rock Band is gonna be fucking awesome.

Fuck, my tooth is killing me. Back to the dentist AGAIN.

So I haven’t found anyone via Match.com (although, admittedly, my interest waned after the first coupla weeks) but I have picked up my own slack and have actually socialized and called and emailed and asked a coupla (new favorite word!) ladies out! And it didn’t take me 10 minutes like when I asked Special K back in January. Holy shit! January!!! Haha! I’m laughing at myself for being so vague on this blog. I’m so immature. But I’m also endless in a victory of myself! Look at me and my new haircut and my clean car and my fancy job taking initiative! So, if you were wondering, I’m busy this weekend. The key question, though…will I be busy next weekend??

Clearly, I wasn’t busy tonight. Good night, everyone!

 

4 responses to “Assorted Crap

  1. alicia

    August 29, 2007 at 7:46 am

    um, THIS POST IS “DA BOMB.” too funny.
    and this…this was perfect: I love Safeway. From the apples to the yogurt to the mineral water. The flooring. The employees. Especially that one alarmingly cute, sparkly-eyed woman who wears a tie with her uniform. Ingredients for life, indeed.

     
  2. videoxy

    August 31, 2007 at 8:31 am

    Sorry you couldn’t come to Seattle this weekend.
    But look, maybe you’ll have a WAY better time with one of the new ladies.
    Give some advance warning next time, nerd, and we can play!

     
  3. whatupthen

    August 31, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Hey, hey now!! “Nerd” is kinda harsh. My whole thing is that I blur the line between geek and sophisticate!

    It’s possible that I’ve been cultivating my nerdy side this summer.

     
  4. videoxy

    September 3, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Yeah, the nerdy side keeps us grounded, I think, when the other sides get a little feisty or out of control. I think it’s always good to check with your inner-nerd to see how you REALLY feel about something and for general guidance.

    If you’ve been working on your nerdy side, you’re probably well prepared for the new school year.

    I hope your innter-nerd is healthy and happy!

     

Leave a comment