RSS

Back, Baby, Back!

30 Nov

I suppose I’m in a regularly-scheduled rut at the moment.  It’s not just a blogging rut, either, but an activity rut during the week.  Of course, I’m out and about on the weekends trying to utilize every precious weekend minute to the fullest, but the weekdays just cause me to lose all energy.  It’s a combination of things: long work hours, the sudden cold snap in Changwon and the fact that I’ve finally learned to work the torrent application on my computer.  The result?  Haven’t jogged in over a week (thought I did play soccer with a bunch of British guys…very skilled, those guys), I’ve been spending many daytime hours in the bed and I had not taken a shower when I sat next to the cute Mongolian woman in my Korean class (it’s a semi-long story).

Another example of the rut is that every word prior to this sentence was written on November 27 and I’m just continuing the post on December 1.  I haven’t even been able to complete a draft!  But I’ve broken out of it a little bit lately.  Room is spic-and-span, made oatmeal cookies twice for two separate Thanksgiving get-togethers, got plans to visit Seoul in the works and, baby, I played table tennis today!

Table Tennis Club

Sarah and Pieter are way in the back there and we enjoyed the place so much.  Only 6000 won per hour!  I took a look at the ping-pong equipment, though.  115,000 won for a brand-new paddle!  That’s $75!!  Ended up saving my money and spending it on some pretty good pork and vegetables!

Shrimp, quail eggs and NONROASTED peanuts!

Shrimp, quail eggs and NONROASTED peanuts!

Korean Fine Dining

Korean Fine Dining

Yeah, man, nothing like some quail eggs to give that sense of accomplishment.  And let me top it off with a treat.  I bought the 4000 won microphone from E-Mart so that I could use Skype on the computer, but I’ve also used to it to make a recording of that song I wrote.

Korean Girl by The $ynchronizer (feat. Zero 7)

I used the Alvin voice because the lyrics are inherently silly (“Buy you some lingerie so I could earn your trust”??)  But I think it works well and I’m proud of it.  I definitely have to write a couple more in the near future and maybe even some original music, wouldn’t that be nice?  Okay, I’m back, baby!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 30, 2008 in Korea, music, straight cash

 

One response to “Back, Baby, Back!

  1. whatupthen

    November 30, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Well, it’s December 1 in Korea…

     

Leave a comment