RSS

More-Than-Decent Friday

09 Aug

It’s nearly 3:30am and I’m at Happy Donut instead of on my way home after watching the Opening Ceremonies and a little Dreamcast with Captain E.  It’s just that Friday was such a good day — one of those where every task I’d set out to do was accomplished.  Out the door at 8:30 to jog, and the energy was there to take me much farther than normal!  I have been so used to my route near the old high school, up Second Street, down East Avenue and back home that it never occurred to me that I could run downtown.  The idea came to mind when I saw Andy running there once.  And so, I extended the run through downtown before jogging home.  I won’t pretend I wasn’t trying to show off to all of the people driving their vehicles downtown, but they were probably repulsed at the sweaty mess I was by that point.

The teaching became much more likely this week; the background check and Apostille certification are IN MY HANDS.  I got the fingerprints last Friday, received the criminal record check on Wednesday and just got the int’l stamp today from the agency in Sunnyvale.  Now I just send them in and wait for my work visa.  There’s an outside chance I could take that earl September assignment if the visa process goes quickly.  More likely, it will be later in the month or even October, but the point is that I’m checking off items on the list.

Washed all of my clothes.  Cleaned all of the dishes.  Even MADE MY BED for once!!

Played basketball even though I had run hard this morning.  I figure I’m a young guy and I should be able to.  Played okay only.  I don’t know why I’ve been throwing the ball away so much lately.

Finally over to visit MK3 and Captain E to watch the program.  Pretty incredible.  The scroll and the Tai Chi artists; the fireworks themselves were massive enough to create a pollution problem even if there hadn’t been one and the lighting was among the coolest things I’d ever seen.  I told Captain E that by the time the Olympics arrive 20 or 30 years from now the only way to match the spectacle will be to kill someone or to blow up a monument or something.  I love watching the procession of athletes from all of the nations as well.  It makes me want to be in the Olympic Village…all those hot, athletic female athletes from every country and they’re all elated and giddy about being there?  I would at least be able to get some email addresses, right??  Anyway, quite lovely, quite incredible.

And now, Happy Donut!  It’s time to leave, for sure, but this (plus getting into the bed) is a nice end to a pretty good day.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2008 in WhatUpThen

 

4 responses to “More-Than-Decent Friday

  1. alicia

    August 11, 2008 at 11:06 am

    i love accidentally longer runs than usual!!!! they are my favorite.

    where will you be teaching? i’m out of your loop and want to get back in.

     
  2. California Apostille

    August 18, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Congratulations on getting closer to teaching abroad. I met with a client today that is moving to the Czech Republic to teach.

     
  3. NY Apostille

    September 6, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Good Luck!

     
  4. whatupthen

    September 7, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Thanks Apostille Services Commenters!!

     

Leave a comment