RSS

Squeezed for Money

22 Jul

In Tahoe, after being down a little bit more than I was willing to be, I made a recovery during my last run at the $5 Blackjack table to finish at -$100 for the weekend — perfectly acceptable.  I had not anticipated the various upcoming charges, however.  $90 for the adult basketball league, $305 to get the Apostille-certified criminal background check and $327 to clear that goddamned warrant from 1999 for running a stop sign on my bike.  VideoXY was right; I needed to get that thing cleared so that it wouldn’t raise a red flag during my visa application, but I was pissed while forking over that money.  I drove to the Santa Clara County courthouse this afternoon and the clerk smirked as she read the charge to me.  She said I could pay the cash or see the judge.  I had the money in hand but had to ask, and the earliest I could see the judge would have been September 5 so there went my money.  Things got a little dicey lately because I had trouble getting my transcripts last week, too — the school wouldn’t issue me any because I’m behind on my student loan payments, so that’s gonna be another major chunk of change just so I can get this application sent.  I guess these painful days of teaching summer school will be worth it.

Despite the setbacks, I’m still commiteed.  The HR person from the school district has been calling me with interview dates but today I told her that she didn’t need to, that I’d be taking a job outside of the district.  I won’t say it’s quite all-or-nothing yet, but it’s certainly all-or-no-job-in-September so I’d better close the deal as quickly as possible.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 22, 2008 in straight cash, Teaching, vacation, WhatUpThen

 

One response to “Squeezed for Money

  1. radiotooth

    July 23, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Wow, you’re really being tested right now, aren’t you? I wonder if the lesson is something like “how bad do you want this?” or if it’s more at “see how you can get things taken care of when you want to”.

    Either way, nice job getting the ducks in a row.

    I’m totally excited for you!

     

Leave a comment