RSS

On A Mission

15 Jul

I’m 99% certain I won’t be traveling to China to teach this Fall.  However, a position in Busan in South Korea is becoming a more likely possibility each day.  Still need to procure the appropriate documents, including a criminal background check (does an arrest warrant related to unpaid parking tickets count?) and transcripts from college back in 2001.  It’s all fine as long as they look only at the school name and not the GPA.  I’m raring to go.  Summer school is ultimately depressing and the other options for 08-09 look disappointingly similar to what I’ve been doing for the last several years.  So, I’ve started to decline the interviews for local schools because I’ll accomplish whatever it takes to make this overseas thing happen.

Meanwhile, I’m psyching myself up to tell the China program director that I’m not doing it.  I’ll try to make that conversation as brief as possible so that I don’t feel bad about myself for explaining the situation and making excuses to the man that I do not owe him.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 15, 2008 in Teaching, travel, WhatUpThen

 

One response to “On A Mission

  1. radiotooth

    July 16, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    I’d check into the arrest warrant. Are you serious about that? Sorry to be naive. But anyway, if it’s real, get it taken care of so you can go!

     

Leave a comment