RSS

New Day, New Cafe

23 Mar

Happy Donut is packed with people on Easter Sunday, so I’ve driven down the road this afternoon to Pearl Cafe in Mountain View (or am I in Los Altos?). It’s more elegant than Happy Donut; more cafe, less cafeteria, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this cinnamon streusel coffee cake. I’m not saying it beats rainbow sprinkles and 24 open hours, but it’s a workable alternative.

It was certainly nice to see Andy today, visiting from L.A. He’s someone I don’t get to see enough of. And his idea of how to spend the day! Here we are, Andy, myself along with Captain E and MK3 — we bought sandwiches at Andronico’s and ate them at the cactus garden! Then we went to the park and threw the frisbee and laid down on the grass! It was wonderful! I just…that never would have crossed my mind. Maybe I think I’m too cool for the frisbee or that eating in the park is boring, but I think it’s proof that the only thing that really matters is good company.

Andy also suggested that I reconsider the teaching English in China or Japan. I do a good job as a teacher but I don’t particularly enjoy it. Since I need a new job, anyway, perhaps this would be a good way to step outside of the industry and to find something else suitable. Andy also noted that it would help solve my not-traveling problem and my living-at-home problem, and that it couldn’t possibly hurt to pick up some Mandarin and to network and possibly make inroads towards a new career. Hey, it sounds good to me at first glance!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2008 in employment, friends, Happy Donut, travel

 

2 responses to “New Day, New Cafe

  1. videoxy

    March 24, 2008 at 4:41 am

    OMG yes. I totally agree Andy. My friend Paul is in China now, with his family, for work. He said the other day that he can’t even imagine coming back to the states now (they’ve been there a year.)

    I lived in Japan for 3 months when I was 20, and it was life-changing. I would go back in a heartbeat, if I could. I never thought of trying to move there with the morsel, but I know the ex would come too, if we worked it out.

    Maybe just SERIOUSLY consider China or Japan?

     
  2. swong

    April 11, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    A friend of mine just finished a 2 year stint teaching English in Japan right now through the JET Program.

    Great stories come back.

     

Leave a comment