RSS

Trivia and Star Sighting

29 Jul

I went to Stanford. They say about that school (and probably all of the Ivy League schools) that sometime during that first week as a freshman, the other students living next to you will somehow inform you of their SAT score. They’re just waiting for the right moment in a conversation when they can slip it in there without seeming prideful or boastful, which is, of course, just what they are feeling. It’s totally true! I remember doing it…although I probably should have kept my mouth shut because I heard a lot of people throwing out number that began with “15” and “16” shortly thereafter (They were all full of shit). Everyone there is so competitive throughout grade school and beyond and I’m no exception. So I invite you to click on the new link I posted — FunTrivia.com! It’s for people who like answering trivia questions and who like competing against strangers and keeping stats. I must add that I have entered two weeklong trivia tournaments in the past two weeks and I won them both; yes, I am taking FunTrivia by storm! Anyway, click and join so that I can get some more poi– I mean, so you can enjoy this wonderful website!

Killer Crossover

Speaking for Stanford, I went over there to play basketball on Saturday. My ID card is NOT current; it says 1999 on it. And I’m definitely not allowed in the gym (especially after that Azia Kim thing), but sometimes I can catch the card swiper person while he/she reads a book and I’m able to get in. Anyway, I did this on Saturday and I’m glad I did because current NBA “star” Josh Childress was in there playing along with Chris Hernandez. They’re a couple of former Stanford players, if you didn’t know. What’s Childress? 6’8″?? He didn’t seem that big to me. I only watched him play one game because they both split afterward but it wasn’t one of those “there’s no way I can play against this guy” feelings, even if that was the reality; he seemed to be able to get to the rim very easily…like EVERY POSSESSION. It was cool to watch. The only thing cooler would have been to see that other former Stanford player at the gym…

Kimyacioglu for 3!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 29, 2007 in Basketball, dubious accomplishments, Links

 

One response to “Trivia and Star Sighting

  1. alicia

    August 2, 2007 at 10:14 am

    we should drink more beer together.

    and it’s not just the ivy league where freshman discuss sats. it’s everywhere. i think conversations went like this:

    1: hey
    2: hey
    1: do you party?
    2. yes/no.
    1. oh. i do/don’t.
    2. what’s your major?
    1. this/that.
    2. really? i can’t believe i’m here.
    1. me either. what’d you get on your sats?
    2. bigass number/smallass number.
    1. oh my god, how DID you get in here?

     

Leave a comment